top of page

Battle for The Battle: Playoffs (8/26/21)

Updated: Sep 22, 2021

By Kevin McCaskill Jr.

Thursday, 8/24/21, was the final day of the Battle for the Border Summer League. There were three championship games at The South End Community Center.

7 PM

DMG Ballerz beat Eight Sixty to win the Boys AAU Division.

8 PM

Girls American Championship:

Minnechaug (dark green) vs. South Hadley (light green)

Minnechaug got out to an early lead and had control of the game the entire way.

Minnechaug led at halftime 19-9. They were getting easy layups in transition. They were also hitting jump shots. South Hadley had trouble getting the ball over halfcourt and getting their offense going.

Minnechaug cruised through the rest of the game and won the American conference Championship 33-12! Congratulations to Minnechaug Regional!

9 PM

Boys Select Division:

Minnechaug vs. Westfield

Early in the first half, the game was competitive. Both teams took a couple minutes to find their rhythm. Halfway through the 1st, Minnechaug led 13-8.

Minnechaug began to open their lead by playing good defense and holding Westfield to one shot per possession. Westfield was also turning the ball over

Minnechaug led at halftime 30-18.

Westfield opened the second half with a 9-0 run over 2 minutes. They narrowed their deficit to 3, 30-27.

The game stayed close but Minnechaug always maintained their lead. They were led by returning players Chris Moreno and Jake Thomas.

Westfield got the lead down to 2, 39-37. Jake Thomas hit a 3 on the other end to put Minnechaug ahead 42-37.

Westfield couldn’t overcome the deficit and Minnechaug won the Boys Select Division 46-38. Congratulations to Minnechaug Regional, again!

BfTB 🏆 Tally:

Girls American Champion: Minnechaug

Girls National Champion: Vale

Boys American Champion: East Longmeadow

Boys National Champion: Paulo Freire

Boys Select Champion: Minnechaug

Boys AAU Champion: DMG Ballerz


CT - 2

MA - 4 🥇

Thank you to the SECC and The Court for creating this new league for the youth of Western MA & Northern CT.



bottom of page