top of page


by Kevin McCaskill Jr.

12/4/22 * 4:15 AM

(FOXBOROUGH, MA) - The MIAA 🏈 Championship Games were played at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, MA. In Division 1, the #7 seed St. John’s Prep was up against the #4 seed Springfield Central HS (Central).

Saturday afternoon’s game was mired by rain and wind. The weather effected the game immensely.

Neither team scored in the 1st quarter. Central couldn’t get their running game going with their RBs - Tariq Thomas & Connelius Patrick - or their All-American QB Will Watson. Watson also had trouble all game connecting with the WRs. He was inaccurate on some throws; the WRs dropped passes all game.

St. John’s Prep didn’t score in the 1st but they were having some success on offense in the running game. St. John’s Senior RB Carson Browne ran the ball hard all game.

St. John’s played three QBs on Saturday. Deacon Robillard started the game. Aidan Driscoll threw the only TD pass of the game to WR Joenel Aguero. That score, and the EP, put St. John’s up 7-0. Carl Monks finished the game for St. John’s.

The Aguero TD was the only score of the 1st half. St. John’s defense was very good on Saturday. They shut down all the running lanes Central was accustomed to exploiting. Watson couldn’t get to edge on zone-read plays. The holes for the RBs were closed very quickly by St. John’s defenders.

In the third quarter, St. John’s scored another TD. Browne ran up the middle for a 2-yard TD. The video is below. Multiple replays were also played in the stadium. It’s fairly obvious, Browne was short. Nonetheless, the TD counted. The EP kick was no good; St. John’s led 13-0.

Central had one more quarter to make a comeback.

Central gave a valiant effort but it wasn’t enough. St. John’s Prep shutout Central 13-0 to win the MIAA Division 1 Championship!

After the game, Aguero said, “It feels good” to be a champion. “I started with one, now I’ma end with one. It feels amazing; it feels great”.

(Joenel Aguero)

Congratulations to St. John’s Prep!

Here are the other 2022 MIAA 🏈 Champions:

Division 2 - Catholic Memorial

Division 3 - Wakefield Memorial

Division 4 - Duxbury

Division 5 - North Reading

Division 6 - St. Mary’s

Division 7 - West Boylston

Division 8 - Hull


bottom of page